Tag Archives: Young Adult

Review of ZERO REPEAT FOREVER by G.S. Prendergast

This book is AMAZING. Run out and get your copy today!!!

Not just another dystopian novel. This book will grab you by the throat and leave you breathless. Told from alternating viewpoints, you will be drawn into the lives of Eighth, a Nahx alien invader, and Raven, a human girl with a troubled past. ZERO REPEAT FOREVER is unlike anything readers have come across before. Full of danger, mystery, loneliness, despair, hope, friendship, and even a hint of romance. Readers won’t be able to put it down. Definitely recommend!

________________________

Description:

The 5th Wave meets Beauty and the Beast in this fast-paced and heart-stopping novel about an invasion of murderous creatures and one girl fighting for her life at the end of the world.

He has no voice or name, only a rank, Eighth. He doesn’t know the details of the mission, only the directives that hum in his mind.

Dart the humans. Leave them where they fall.

His job is to protect his Offside. Let her do the shooting.

Until a human kills her…

Sixteen-year-old Raven is at summer camp when the terrifying armored Nahx invade. Isolated in the wilderness, Raven and her fellow campers can only stay put. Await rescue. Raven doesn’t like feeling helpless, but what choice does she have?

Then a Nahx kills her boyfriend.

Thrown together in a violent, unfamiliar world, Eighth and Raven should feel only hate and fear. But when Raven is injured, and Eighth deserts his unit, their survival comes to depend on trusting each other…

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of TOWARD A SECRET SKY by Heather Maclean

***Available NOW***

Forbidden love, danger, tears, heartbreak, and the battle between good and evil will draw readers in and have them eagerly turning pages. Fans of Cassandra Clare will love this tale of humans, angels, and demons. What happens when the human and the supernatural worlds collide? Can true love win out? Readers will be waiting with baited breath to find out. Definitely recommend!
_________________________
Description

Toward a Secret Sky by New York Times bestselling author Heather Maclean is a new breed of YA novel: an intelligent adventure-quest crossed with a sweeping, forbidden love story. A mix of reality and possibility, this fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Stephenie Meyer and Dan Brown as it leads the reader on a breathless flight through the highlands of Scotland, the secret city under London, and history itself.
Shortly after 17-year-old Maren Hamilton is orphaned and sent to live with grandparents she’s never met in Scotland, she receives an encrypted journal from her dead mother that makes her and everyone around her a target. It confirms that her parents were employed by a secret, international organization that’s now intent on recruiting her. As Maren works to unravel the clues left behind by her mother, a murderous madness sweeps through the local population, terrorizing her small town. Maren must decide if she’ll continue her parents’ fight or stay behind to save her friends.
With the help of Gavin, an otherworldly mercenary she’s not supposed to fall in love with, and Graham, a charming aristocrat who is entranced with her, Maren races against the clock and around the country from palatial estates with twisted labyrinths to famous cathedrals with booby-trapped subterranean crypts to stay ahead of the enemy and find a cure. Along the way, she discovers the great truth of love: that laying down your life for another isn’t as hard as watching them sacrifice everything for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of INCRIMINATING DATING by Rebekah L. Purdy


Cute story that has the perfect blend of teenage angst, high school drama, romance, and growing up and finding your path in life. Definitely recommend!

___________________________

Description

Ayla Hawkins is ready to stand up for change in her high school. But winning the election for class president against popular Jenna Lee will be impossible without a miracle. When she stumbles upon Mr. Perfect Luke Pressler defacing public property and catches it on camera: cue miracle. Ayla’s got the dirt she needs to get Luke on Team Ayla—in the form of her new fake boyfriend.

One mistake. All Luke wanted was a night to goof off, to blow off steam. The pressure of maintaining the perfect facade when his reality was crumbling around him had become too much, and next thing he knew, he was pretending to date Ayla Hawkins. But his little blackmailer turns out to be kind. Honorable. Opinionated. And just the breath of fresh air he didn’t even realize he was suffocating for. But Luke and Ayla come from different worlds, and once the election is over, their fauxmance will be, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of DON’T KISS THE MESSENGER by Katie Ray

A modern version of “Cyrano de Bergerac” that will have readers swooning. Heroine CeCe Edmonds has lived with a disfiguring scar on her face since she and her mother were in a car accident. The scars on her confidence and psyche are less noticeable than the scar on her face but just as impactful. She’s lived her life feeling as if everyone is judging her and thinking less of her because she feels she isn’t beautiful or perfect with the scar marring her face. When new kid and new quarterback of the football team, Emmett Brady, enters her life CeCe is intrigued. Her hopes are seemingly dashed when Brady shows interest in the hot and beautiful transfer student, Bryn DeNeuville. Cece’s fear that beauty is all that matters in life and love seems to be confirmed when Brady starts pursuing Bryn. Bryn is beautiful and a talented athlete but fairly shallow. She thinks Brady is hot but she gets tongue tied around him and asks CeCe to help her communicate with him via text and email messages. Will helping Bryn win Brady’s heart mean losing her own? Readers will be eager to find out. Definitely recommend!
____________________________

Description

For most of her teenage life, CeCe Edmonds has been dealing with the stares and the not-so-polite whispers that follow her around Edgelake High. So she has a large scar on her face—Harry Potter had one on his forehead and people still liked him.

CeCe never cared about her looks—until Emmett Brady, transfer student and football darling, becomes her literature critique partner. The only problem? Emmett is blindsided by Bryn DeNeuville, CeCe’s gorgeous and suddenly shy volleyball teammate.
Bryn asks CeCe to help her compose messages that’ll charm Emmett.CeCe isn’t sure there’s anything in his head worth charming but agrees anyway—she’s a sucker for a good romance. Unfortunately, the more messages she sends and the more they run into each other, the more she realizes there’s plenty in his head, from food to literature. Too bad Emmett seems to be falling for the wrong girl…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized