Monthly Archives: July 2016

Review of TO HAVE AND TO HOLD by Lauren Layne


***Available NOW***

Absolutely LOVED this first book in a new series by Lauren Layne! Great characters, smoothly flowing story, romance, laughter, and
________________________________

Description

USA TODAY bestselling author Lauren Layne is the “queen of witty dialogue and sexy scenes” (Rachel Van Dyken)! Now, Sex and the City meets The Wedding Planner in The Wedding Belles, her sizzling brand new contemporary romance series about three ambitious wedding planners who can make any bride’s dream come true…but their own.

Discovering her fiancé is an international con man just moments before they exchange vows devastates celebrity wedding planner Brooke Baldwin’s business—and breaks her heart. Now a pariah in Los Angeles, she seeks a fresh start in New York City and thinks she’s found it with her first bridal client, a sweet—if slightly spoiled—hotel heiress. Then she meets the uptight businessman who’s holding the purse strings.
Seth Tyler wishes he could write a blank check and be done with his sister Maya’s fancy-pants wedding. Unfortunately, micromanaging the event is his only chance at proving Maya’s fiancé is a liar. Standing directly in his way is the stunning blonde wedding planner whose practiced smiles and sassy comebacks both irritate and arouse him. He needs Brooke’s help. But can he persuade a wedding planner on a comeback mission to unplan a wedding? And more importantly, how will he convince her that the wedding she should be planning…is theirs?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of RESISTING THE REBEL by Lisa Brown Roberts


Looking for a fun YA book with a little bit of heat? Look no further than RESISTING THE REBEL by Lisa Brown Roberts! Fans of Kody Keplinger and Jenny Han will really enjoy this book. Perfect blend of quirkiness, teenage angst, drama, laughter, and sexual tension to have readers hooked. Definitely recommend!

________________________________

Description

Disclaimer: This book contains a villain pretending to be a hero, a hero pretending to be a villain, a disco-dancing heroine, two overprotective sidekicks, a little bit of bad language, and a whole lot of swoony kissing.

Spirit committee leader Mandy Pennington is secretly in love with her best friend, Gus, but when he hooks up with her archenemy at a party, she decides to win him over once and for all. She just doesn’t know how. But who better to help than hot loner Caleb Torrs?
Caleb’s got his own problems, but when he sees Mandy pining over Gus at a party, he thinks she’s finally smoked the spirit stick and lost her mind. Maybe he has, too, because he just asked Mandy to be his fake girlfriend. She’ll get her loser friend’s attention, and he’ll get his stalker ex off his back. It’s a win-win.
But soon one fake date blends into the next and before he knows it, he actually wants to kiss Mandy. For real. Too bad their plan is working, and Gus is finally noticing the one girl Caleb just might be falling for…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of WHAT SHE WANTED by Julie Anne Lindsey


***Available NOW***

Be sure to have a box of tissues handy while reading this beautiful tale by Julie Anne Lindsey! It is a powerful story filled with love, loss, laughter, and finding yourself. The main character, Katy, has struggled since her mom died of cancer shortly before Katy’s first birthday. Katy was left to live with her grandfather who is mired in grief at the loss of his daughter and his wife to cancer. Katy has lived in the shadows and done her best to blend in and not cause trouble for her grandfather. Her grandfather has a sudden heart attack that has Katy floundering. Coupled with finding her mother’s journal, Katy begins to question her life and what she wants. Readers will be drawn into the story and will eagerly be turning pages to find out what happens next. Definitely recommend!
___________________________________

Description 
It seems Katy has been waiting for her eighteenth birthday all her life. Raised by a grandfather who never got over losing Katy’s mother to cancer at a young age, she’s dreamed of a life free of the burdens of her family’s tragedies. But just before her birthday, she learns tragedy isn’t finished telling its story . . .

Before she can begin her new life, Katy’s grandfather suffers a heart attack, a box of her mother’s keepsakes, including a journal written to Katy while she was in her mother’s womb, at his side. Believing the only thing her grandpa loves enough to live for is her mother’s memory, Katy reads to him from the journal every night at the hospital. Night after night, line after line, Katy begins to see herself as her mother saw her in her dreams. Buoyed by her mother’s undying love and conviction, Katy vows to make her mother’s sacrifice mean something and promises to fulfill all her mother’s requests. Even the hard ones. Especially those . . .

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White


Dark and twisted tale that will grab you in its clutches until the very end. Richly drawn characters, scenes, and action will keep you turning pages even when you don’t want to. Graphic scenes of violence and torture will turn your stomach but not enough to stop you from continuing on. Definitely recommend! 

________________________________

Description
This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN, Kristin Cashore’s GRACELING, and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won’t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.
Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.
But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.
From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of THROUGH FIRE by Freya Barker


Freya Barker does it again with this heart wrenching tale from her “Portland, Maine” series. Be sure to have a box of tissues on hand when reading because you’ll need them. Full of heart, hope, pain, anguish, and redemption. This book will grab your heart and throw it in a blender. But, despite the emotional turmoil this book will subject the reader to, you will come out of it feeling restored and hopeful. Some things had to be forged THROUGH FIRE to reveal their true form. Definitely recommend.

________________________________________

Description
Violence corroded her…

Obedience defiled her…
Fear kept her chained…
Freedom is hard to embrace when she’s never learned to trust. Yet in the span of a second, she grabs a single opportunity and runs toward it. Straight into the sanctuary of a pub at the end of a wharf.
She doesn’t understand the concept of friendship. She’s never felt the connection of a relationship. She’s as innocent as the driven snow and yet tainted with corruption. Still, she finds herself surrounded by people who accept her, without even knowing the first thing about her.
But one of them is determined to dig deeper.

He treasures his friends, yet he’s steered clear of committed relationships. He likes his life comfortably predictable and entirely controlled. Until it isn’t. For months he’s avoided interacting with The Skipper’s newest addition. Perhaps realizing that once he looked deeply into those liquid brown eyes, he wouldn’t be able to turn away.
When his present and her past puts them both on the brink of change, they are forged through fire as one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of GIRL IN THE SHADOWS by Gwenda Bond


Looking for a YA book full of mystery, romance, and suspense? GIRL IN THE SHADOWS will definitely fit the bill. Smooth moving plot and well drawn characters will suck you in. Readers will be eagerly turning pages to get to the exciting ending. Definitely recommend this fantastic tale! 

____________________________________

Description
Eighteen-year-old Moira Mitchell grew up in the shadows of Vegas’s stage lights while her father’s career as a magician soared. More than anything, Moira wants to be a magician too, but her father is dead set against her pursuing magic.

When an invitation to join the Cirque American mistakenly falls into Moira’s possession, she takes action. Instead of giving the highly coveted invitation to its intended recipient, Raleigh, her father’s handsome and worldly former apprentice, Moira takes off to join the Cirque. If she can perform alongside its world-famous acts, she knows she’ll be able to convince her dad that magic is her future.
But when Moira arrives, things take on an intensity she can’t control as her stage magic suddenly feels like…real magic. To further distract her, Raleigh shows up none too pleased at Moira’s presence, all while the Cirque’s cocky and intriguing knife thrower, Dez, seems to have it out for her. As tensions mount and Moira’s abilities come into question, she must decide what’s real and what’s an illusion. If she doesn’t sort it out in time, she may forever remain a girl in the shadows.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Review of DREAMING UP A DARE by Catherine Gayle


***Available NOW on Kindle***

This novella, #DreamingUpaDare by Catherine Gayle, will leave you satisfied but still wishing for more! Short but definitely NOT sweet. Perfect blend of HOT sex, romance, and flirty fun! You really can’t go wrong with anything by Catherine Gayle. Definitely recommend!

________________________

Description

Hockey star Jackson Maddox and gymnast Pepper Wilson have been best friends since childhood… 

Just friends. 

When Jackson needs a date to a prestigious party, he calls upon his petite and dazzling BFF to be his arm candy for the night. Nothing could be better than walking into a room with Pepper on his arm. Jackson won’t ever admit how he really feels about her, because they’re… 
Just friends. 

With her gymnastics career over, Pepper welcomes a chance to let her freak flag fly—especially with Jackson by her side. Pepper can’t confess she’s loved him since childhood. He’s her best friend, and there’s no reason to jeopardize what they’ve got. But they’re still… 
Just friends. 

But when a seemingly harmless game of Truth or Dare gets a little too close and entirely too personal, can Jackson dream up a dare that could give them both what they really want?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized