19 Books To Check Out If You Enjoyed “Paper Towns”

If you’ve already read everything by John Green you might want to check these out.

Previously posted on Jul. 27, 2015, at 7:38 p.m. by Farrah Penn, Buzzfeed staff http://www.buzzfeed.com/farrahpenn/books-to-read-if-you-loved-paper-towns

1. Saving June by Hannah Harrington

Harlequin

Why you’ll love it: After the devastating death of Harper’s older sister, June, Harper and her BFF decide to secretly road trip to California to spread her ashes. But what she doesn’t expect is to be accompanied by Jake Tolan, who has a connection to June that Harper wants to crack. If you enjoyed the adventure and the beautiful, lyrical quotes in Paper Towns, you’ll surely enjoy Saving June.
2. Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham

Simon and Schuster

Why you’ll love it: On the brink of graduation, three friends decide to embark on a cross country road to see a reunion show of their once favorite band, despite having a fallout in their friendship freshman year. If you enjoyed the strong themes of friendship and quirky characters in Paper Towns, you’re sure to devour Reunited.
3. Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Balzer + Bray

Why you’ll love it: When Roza goes missing, the people of Bone Gap think she decided to leave on her own accord. But Finn knows that’s not the case. He thinks she’s been kidnapped — only no one believes him. This is a hauntingly beautiful book that, much like Paper Towns, will engross you with its intriguing plot.
4. The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu.

 Roaring Brook Press

Why you’ll love it: There are tons of rumors flying around about Alice. She’s a slut. She’s easy. Everyone says so. This novel is narrated by Alice’s classmates as it pieces together Alice’s story about these rumors. Much like the stories of Margo Roth Spiegelman, The Truth About Alice shows the reader how easily truths can become warped in the mouths of others.
5. Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Harlequin Teen

Why you’ll love it: Leila is on a road trip to Alaska, but along with way she impacts the lives of four other teenagers with struggles of their own. Told in multiple points of view from these four characters, Leila is a mystery that they all want to try and solve. If you enjoyed the manic pixie dream girl of Margo in Paper Towns, you’re sure to love the adventure in Let’s Get Lost.
6. Being Henry David by Cal Armistead

 Albert Whitman Teen

Why you’ll love it: Hank finds himself at Penn Station in New York with no memory of anything in his life, except that his only possession is a copy of Walden by Henry David Thoreau. As he pieces together the mystery of his past, quirky characters along the way, he slowly begins to discover just what may have happened. If you enjoyed Q’s narration in Paper Towns, Being Henry David isn’t one to be missed.
7. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Why you’ll love it: Amy must get her mother’s car from California to Connecticut, but after a tragic accident she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. This is why her mother sets her up with a family friend, Roger, to help her with the journey. Filled with awkward moments, quirky characters, and some serious misadventures, this book is a perfect follow-up to Paper Towns.
8. Death, Dickinson, and the Demented Life of Frenchie Garcia by Jenny Torres Sanchez

Running Press Kids

Why you’ll love it: The mysterious, dark, and elusive Frenchie Garcia was the last person with Andy Cooper before he committed suicide. Frenchie carries this with her until she meets Colin, and together they recreate the spontaneous night of adventure Frenchie and Andy experienced. Frenchie Garcia is the Margo Roth Spiegelman story you’ve been looking for.
9. Don’t Stop Now by Julie Halpern

Feiwel & Friends

Why you’ll love it: Lillian believes her friend, Penny, has faked her own kidnapping to get away from personal problems, and Lillian has a hunch to where she might be. She teams up with Josh, Penny’s BFF, and they embark on a road trip to Portland. Halpern’s witty dialogue and compelling storyline will have you hooked from beginning to end.
10. Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One Before by David Yoo

Hyperion

Why you’ll love it: Albert Kim has just finished his sophomore year of high school and has come to the conclusion that he will never fit in. But over the summer he befriends smart and beautiful Mia. There’s just one thing that stands in the way: Ryan, her long-term boyfriend who’s been diagnosed with cancer. Yoo crafts an honest and delightfully funny voice that feels similar to Q’s in Paper Towns.
11. The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy by Kate Hattemer

Knopf Books for Young Readers

Why you’ll love it: Ethan and his friends attend the Selwyn Arts Academy, but the one thing they’re all against is For Art’s Sake, the reality TV show that’s being filmed there. They come up with a plan to bring it down while exposing its corruption. Hattemer creates a smart concept paired with a unique group of characters that John Green fans are sure to love.
12. Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith

Katherine Tegen Books

Why you’ll enjoy it: Kiri’s sister, Sukey, died five years ago, but when she gets a call from a stranger who says they have some of her belongings she begins to discover what really might have happened to Sukey. Much like Paper Towns, the writing is beautifully enriching and the plot will have you flipping the pages until the very end.
13. Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Viking Children’s

Why you’ll love it: When Mim Malone learns her mother is ill, she runs away on the first Greyhound bus she can catch and heads from Mississippi to Cleveland. But her journey isn’t as simple as she thought it would be, and along the way she stumbles upon odd characters and makes unexpected friendships. Arnold crafts a compelling, unique voice and exploratory journey that’s sure to appeal to John Green fans.
14. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Why you’ll love it: Ari and Dante befriend each other at a swimming pool and although they have little in common, they are there for one another throughout the struggles life throws their way. This contemporary, coming-of-age story tells an intriguing story of friendship that fans of Paper Towns will fall in love with.
15. Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

Greenwillow Books

Why you’ll love it: Told from the point-of-view of an unidentified narrator, Falling Into Place follows ever-popular Liz and what led to her death. The nonlinear mystery of both the plot and its narrator are sure to keep you hooked. John Green readers will enjoy Zhang’s moving, literary writing with each poignant sentence.
16. Anything Could Happen by Will Walton

Push

Why you’ll love it: Tretch lives in a small town and with a secret — he’s in love with his best friend, Matt. Only Matt has no idea. This coming-of-age contemporary reveals an emotionally poignant story that perfectly captures the trials and tribulations of adolescence. It’s the perfect follow-up read to any John Green novel.
17. Fake ID by Lamar Giles

HarperCollins

Why you’ll love it: Nick and his family have been assigned to the Witness Protection program as a result of his father. Shortly after Nick moves to a new town and befriends Eli and his sister, Eli somehow ends up murdered. The mystery that surrounds this, as well as Nick’s voice, will appeal to those who’ve read Paper Towns.
18. Winger by Andrew Smith

Penguin

Why you’ll love it: 14-year-old Ryan Dean West attends a prestigious boarding school where he’s simply trying to navigate the “teenagedom” waters — girls, bullies, and friendships. Those who were a fan of Q’s voice in Paper Towns will love the witty, realistically honest portrayal of Ryan in Winger.
19. As Simple as Snow by Gregory Galloway

Penguin

Why you’ll love it: A nameless narrator meets the mysterious, intriguing Anna who has a passion for riddles and mind games. But then Anna disappears, leaving nothing behind except a dress, and the narrator slowly begins to put together what might have happened. If you enjoyed the mystery of Margo in Paper Towns, you’re sure to enjoy this plot.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s