A review of “Awake” by Natasha Preston

Coming out on August 4th, 2015

Description
Don’t miss the latest gripping, high-stakes thriller from Wattpad sensation Natasha Preston, author of the runaway hit The Cellar. 

Of course, the dress was white. This is what I’m supposed to die in, I thought. Not many people knew what their last outfit would be. 

I pulled it over my head. It fit me perfectly. It had long, loose fitting sleeves, a modest neckline, and waves of material on the skirt. I hated it.

There were no shoes, and I was afraid I’d have to run through the forest barefoot but there weren’t a lot of options. Besides, I’d run barefoot over a bed of nails to get away.

“Scarlett, are you ready?” he called.

I looked in the mirror and took a deep breath. Time to fight for my life.

Scarlett Garner doesn’t remember anything before the age of four—until a car accident changes everything. She starts to remember pieces of a past that frighten her. A past her parents hid from her…and a secret that could get her killed.
I received this book from Netgalley. This was my first book by Natasha Preston but I don’t think it will be my last. I enjoyed the story line and the main character, Scarlett. It did feel rushed and hurried in some parts of the book, despite the 354 page length, and meandering in other parts. The story follows Scarlett as she struggles with her past and the gap in her memory from before she was 4 years old. What happened in the fire? What secrets are her parents keeping fro her? Does the mysterious new boy, Noah, have anything to do with it?

The story has many twists and turns and leaves the reader guessing what will happen next. Despite a few bumps in the road, Awake is a good read and definitely worth a look!

  

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

